## EUNICE MAY RUSSELL DEMOCRAT SCHOLARSHIP

## Criteria

## 2023 Award

- 1. A graduating senior from one of the high schools in Montgomery County, Illinois (Hillsboro, Lincolnwood, Litchfield, Nokomis), who is also a resident of Montgomery County, Illinois, will be awarded a \$1000 scholarship in spring of 2023 for use at any post secondary educational institution.
- 2. The scholarship shall be named The Eunice May Russell Democrat Scholarship and will be funded by the Montgomery County Democratic Central Committee.
- 3. It shall be a non-renewable scholarship, that is, the recipient will only receive the scholarship for the year it is awarded.
- 4. This scholarship is open to any student from a DEMOCRAT family who meets the criteria listed below
- 5. Applicants shall provide the following to their guidance counselor for transmittal to the committee: <u>NOTE; FAILURE TO INCLUDE ALL OF THE FOLLOWING</u> <u>ITEMS WILL RESULT IN FAILURE OF THE APPLICANT TO BE CONSIDERED</u> <u>FOR THE SCHOLARSHIP</u>
  - A. Letter of acceptance from the institution of higher education the applicant will be attending.
  - B. Letter of recommendation from one of the applicant's present teachers outlining why the applicant is deserving of this scholarship.
  - C. Letter of recommendation from a member of the community (who is not a teacher) outlining why the applicant is deserving of this scholarship.
  - a. A seven hundred and fifty (750) word essay on the topic "Should Illinois Sheriffs Be Allowed To Not Enforce the Protect Illinois Communities Act?"
  - D. Copy of high school transcript.
  - E. Statement of family income

Applications may be mailed to Judy Keith Dalhaus, P. O. Box 414, Litchfield, Illinois 62056. Deadline for RECEIPT of applications is Friday, April 21, 2023.